Using external buttons/actions to modify content

I am wondering if it is possible to clear the content, reset to a default content and highlight certain words inside the prose-mirror editor using external buttons. I couldn’t come across any useful examples demonstrating how to apply those actions from external buttons.

Sometimes you have to combine pieces of information — i.e. how to programmatically apply changes and how to bind event handlers to buttons — to build what you want. Resetting content is best done by creating a new editor state and setting your view to use it. Highlighting words involves creating a plugin that scans the content for matches and adds decorations for them.

@marijn Forgive my ignorance, I am very new to prosemirror. When it comes to highlighting programmatically selected words that recur through the document, what is preferable between decorations and marks?

Marks are part of the document, and since this sounds like a UI element, decorations seem like they would be preferable.

using external buttons

I use transactions to trigger a “re-render” of the editor state and plugins (which listen to transactions happening) to add decorations to the UI.

But how do you trigger a transaction if the doc didn’t change?

Also you don’t want to change you doc (via transaction) just to re-render it.

One key takeaway is: A transaction doesn’t need to change anything!

So you:

• (on button press) manually create an (empty) transaction
  • add some meta data to it <— money maker
  • apply that transaction to the state
  • let your plugin do stuff based on that meta data.

What I do (on e.g. button press) (this.view = editor instance):

const tr = this.view.state.tr
      tr.setMeta('relint', true)

const newState =
        this.view
          .state
          .apply(tr)

this.view.updateState(newState)

in the plugin:

return new Plugin({
    state: {
      init (_, { doc }) { return createDecorations(doc) },
      apply (tr, old) {