Adding fallback extensions for unsupported node/mark types

Hi there,

I have an idea to detect and handle cases when the content JSON contains node/mark types which are missing in schema (e.g. extension is not provided), by patching the schema in runtime (i.e. adding dynamically generated fallback extensions of proper types and names). This way, the content remains unchanged (which is crucial in my case), and yet partially editable.

Is such idea feasible?

Could such mechanism play well with prosemirror (I’m still a newbie here).

Maybe, something similar does already exist?

Thanks in advance!

Schemas can not be updated dynamically. Maybe you could generate a schema in advance before parsing, by scanning the input, but I don’t really see how that helps—the idea is that you define a schema for the document structure you want, so that you know what you get. If you want to allow anything, a generic HTML editing component might be more appropriate.

Hi Marijn,

Thanks for quick reply.

My use case is not a straightforward one. I’m migrating my project from draft-js based editor to prosemirror. There’s a bunch of draft-js plugins that are being transformed to prosemirror extensions. Also, there’s a lot of user content in JSON format, containing these plugins data. So, I do know the final schema, but it takes time to fully implement all the extensions. I think such fallback extension could be useful during this migration period.

As you suggested, before editor instantiation the user content is being analyzed. So, I have a set of available extensions vs a set of marks/nodes that found in a specific content to be displayed. So, I’m trying to generate the fallback extensions and use the full extension set in editor.

@marijn I have a different use case that might very well affect more developer’s ease of use (and might be relatively common)