Creating a custom node with inline input

Hi, I’m new to ProseMirror, still in the process of learning it.

I’m trying to create a custom node with regular rich text editing at the top, and then a html text input underneath which updates a value in the attrs and then outputs that value above the rich text. Of course the displayed attrs value and html text input should have contentEditable="false" on them. So the view will look like:

{attrs.name}
// Regular free text
HTML text input that updates attrs.name

If anyone can point me in the right direction or provide me with some relevant examples I would be very grateful. At the moment I’m thinking I should be using NodeViews? Still not 100% on how to go about it :slight_smile:

1 Like

The easiest way to create and handle the text input would be to create a node view (with a contentDOM attribute so that ProseMirror will handle editing of its child nodes) creating a structure like <outernode><contentnode></contentnode><div contenteditable=false><input ...></div></outernode> (where outernode and contentnode should be whatever makes semantic sense). The node view can register an event handler on the input and dispatch a transaction that changes the node’s attributes whenever its value is changed.

1 Like

Thanks for the speedy response! Okay here is my constructor for creating that structure:

const outer = document.createElement('div')
const content = document.createElement('div')
const inputContainer = document.createElement('div')
inputContainer.contentEditable = false
inputContainer.appendChild(document.createElement('input'))

outer.appendChild(content)
outer.appendChild(inputContainer)
this.dom = this.contentDOM = outer

Outer ends up looking like (before I set this.dom = this.contentDOM = outer):

<div>
  <div></div>
  <div contenteditable="false"><input></div>
</div>