Custom mark with WebComponents

Hello ProseMirror community,

I’m new to ProseMirror and need some assistance with marks in the editor.

My goal is to wrap text, or text selection with a web component’s custom element. I achieved this with a custom mark, and it worked as expected until I tried to define two marks in the document.

The creation of the more than 1 mark works fine and multiple custom marks can be created.

It is when the ProseMirror editor gets created and parse’s the DOM with more than one custom mark, the web component will be created indefinitely until the browser runs out of memory.

I have tested the creation of my web component in an isolated environment and did not experience this bug, it appears to be related to when the custom element gets “rendered” in prose mirror.

I could provide more information and code if needed.

Does the component use a shadow root? If so, yes, that’d probably break—the editor expects to be able to see and control the content of the node, which breaks with a shadow root.

1 Like

Yep, the component uses a shadowroot. I’ll try to work around this. Thanks for the quick reply.

May you go into further detail as to why it would break?

@marijn We have been able to create custom nodes using web components without problems. Are you saying that marks work differently and that the shadowRoot of a mark in particular would cause problems?

As mentioned in the OP, we get this error only when there is more than one mark of this type in our doc. If there is only one element, it works just fine. It’s when we add a second one and modify the node’s style, for example, that ProseMirror gets stuck in an infinite loop.

By contrast, when testing with Nodes that use web components, we are able to add any number of web components to the doc, within various nodes, without any problems (all of which have a shadowRoot).