handleCut Property

I am wondering if there is something akin to a handleCut editor view property. I couldn’t find it in the docs or the source code. In my case I do not want to delete the selection being cut but add a new mark to it. Does anyone know a way to do this?

I’m just a newbie at this… so take my suggestion with a grain of salt.

You would probably remap the keymap to your own function. https://prosemirror.net/docs/ref/#keymap

Your function would probably use https://prosemirror.net/docs/ref/#transform.Transform.addMark in a transaction.

I do not think a keymap handler will be able to catch all the dom events around the clipboard. I could instead listen to copy/cut dom events to catch all the ways a cut can occur (keyboard shortcuts, context menus, other menus, etc). Prosemirror already has code built in for listening to those events and parsing the cut/copy data. I’d rather not have to duplicate that.

Handling the dom "cut" event through handleDOMEvents is probably the best way to do this.

I was just going to make this thread. Handling the cut event for our use case requires adjusting deletion range which would require going in, copying the code for this, pasting it in our code, to override the handler, just to change the way it deletes selection. Or, dispatch a selection change then let the default handler go. Which to me feels wrong to dispatch a transaction just to handle the event properly. But, I guess theres no intention to provide more access to parts of this like pasteHandler.

EDIT: Just so thats not confusing by what I mean by copying and pasting stuff from input.js, I mean I have to copy in all the functions like captureCopy, serializeForClipboard, edithandlers.cut just to change that if statement at the bottom. And override the event with that.

Thanks for the advice @marijn. Any chance a handleCut property will be added in the future?