Help in converting JSON doc to plain text WITHOUT a view/editor

Hi, I’m pretty new to ProseMirror (using TipTap for Vue.js, really) and I’m running into trouble trying to display rich content outside the editor (in a plain text-area) by converting it from JSON to text. In other words, I don’t want to create a visible view/editor or muck around with the HTML DOM, but use the model (editor state) to do the work of converting the serialized JSON to text (if possible).

I’m trying to follow this guide: ProseMirror Guide which states:

“When initializing a state, you can give it an initial document to use. In that case, the schema field is optional, since the schema can be taken from the document.”

So I tried:

import {DOMParser} from "prosemirror-model"
import {EditorState} from "prosemirror-state"

// json is: JSON.parse( JSON.stringify(this.editor.getJSON()) ) where the inner string is what was saved to DB

let state = EditorState.create({
  doc: DOMParser.fromSchema().parse(json)
})

I tried passing null or {} for schema, but I don’t get a valid state back, rather an error:

Error in created hook: “TypeError: Cannot read property ‘cached’ of undefined”

The reason I’m trying to avoid passing in a schema is the documentation quote above (says it’s detected from the document) plus the build fails when including this line:

import {schema} from "prosemirror-schema-basic"

The project uses Webpack and Yarn for builds, and I’m not sure if and how (and why) I must specifically include prosemirror-schema-basic. Do I need to save/serialize the schema along with the JSON object every time a user edits content?

I also searched for discussions on here and cannot find a way to create a Node (no constructor found…) or a DOMSerializer (they both require schemas!) as per:

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you.