How to get the index of list item in ordered list

Hello,I’m new to ProseMirror,I need to custom li element’s number style, so maybe I need to get the index of list item,but I have no idea about how to implement

I have a solution after searching and testing for several hours, but I’m not sure if my code is good enough.For example, I don’t know why I need to +1 after pos+offset, I do it just because it can work in my tests.

export function customListPlugin() {
  return new Plugin({
    appendTransaction: (transactions, oldState, newState) => {
      if(!transactions.find(tr => tr.docChanged )) return;
      let trans = newState.tr
      newState.doc.descendants((node,pos) => {
        if(node.type.name != 'ordered_list') return false;
        node.forEach((child,offset,index) => {
          if(child.attrs.index != index + 1){
            trans.setNodeMarkup(pos+offset+1,undefined,{...child.attrs,index:index+1})
          }
        })
        return false
      })
      if(trans.docChanged) return trans
    }
  })
}
  1. I don’t know why I need to +1 after pos+offset, I do it just because it can work in my tests.

• That is likely because you are targeting the list wrappers (pos), so the absolute position of the nested LI node would be (pos + 1 + offset) from there.
  2. Your solution looks fine with this approach, although its possible the best code would only run / iterate through entire document when applicable, as this approach above will catch any edit to the document - perhaps it can run only when inserting / removing / adjusting list items.

3. At the end your descendants loop: return false

• https://prosemirror.net/docs/ref/#model.Node.descendants

• This will early return from diving into hierarchical nested lists just so you know. So if you allow for deeply nested lists, this solution will miss those (might be worth adding to your unit tests?)