Is this possible with ProseMirror?

Hi everyone,

I’m currently working on a project that requires a rich text editor with some unique functionality. I’m new to working with editors in general and have been trying to implement what I want in Slate js over the past few days and I’m not really getting anywhere. I thought I might take a look at ProseMirror (which I would be using via TipTap, I think, in my React project), but figured I should ask the community about this first before committing to diving into the documentation as this looks like a fairly complex framework.

In my editor I would like to give users the ability to add a translation for each word they type using a custom markup syntax like this: word(translation) or like this: [word]words with spaces[/word](translation).

However, where this gets complicated is that I want the markup itself to disappear when the user hits space after completing it, so e.g. “word(translation)” just becomes “word” maybe with a custom css class to indicate the word has a translation. The translation itself will need to be stored somehow, likely as a data attribute on the element. Then, whenever the user moves their caret back into the word I want the markup to reappear, e.g. “word” becomes “word(translation)”. It’s this last part I just can’t figure out in Slate js.

So my question is, does this sound like something that could be done in ProseMirror? Any examples out there of similar behavior I could look at? Any tips as to a general approach I might take to accomplish this?

It’s still very early days in the project so if I need to switch editor frameworks and do a little more learning that’s fine by me I’d just like to avoid swapping one for another with no reason.

Thank you!

This is definitely something you can do within ProseMirror, but it’d be complex as one would expect. Let me try to give some pointers.