Node positions

Hi,

I’m new to ProseMirror, currently experimenting with the APIs. I set out to do the simple task of programmatically deleting all content from the editor. So I thought I’d do:

editor.tr.delete(new Pos([0], 0), endpos).apply();

where endpos would be the very last position of the document. I found it hard to figure out what the end position is. I can traverse the structure by calling doing something like this:

() => { let path = []; let current = editor.doc; while (current.lastChild != null) { path.push(current.size -1); } return new Pos(path.splice(0, path.length-1), path[path.length-1]); }

So in this particular case, this seems to work because the last recursively obtained child will be a text node and its size will be the length of the text. Is that the right approach? In general ‘size’ sometimes refers to the number of children of a node and sometimes to the length of its textual content. But how can I tell which?

Thanks! Boris

You can just take the start and end offset into the top-level node:

pm.tr.delete(new Pos([], 0), new Pos([], pm.doc.size)).apply()

Hi,

Thanks! Actually it didn’t occur to me that the second argument to Pos (the offset into the target node) could be an index to a child node rather than an offset in a text string. That makes sense.

But that brings me again to my other question: how do I know if the ‘size’ property represents the length of the text content of a node or its children count? A single character is not a “Node”, so I cannot think of the characters of a text node as its children. I have to somehow go by node type, or what else?

This seems like a beautifully designed library. I hope I can develop a good understanding of it and contribute to the community!

Cheers, Boris