Prosemirror.net example editor: adds extra < br > markup when its HTML output is read back in as input

I’m a newbie and just evaluating ProseMirror for now. To get started in my evaluation, I grabbed the code from prosemirror.net home page and used it as my text editor in my code.

One issue that I came across: if I type 2 Enter keys in a row, I get an empty paragraph with the html being: < p > < br > < / p >. When I save that page and then read it back, I get an extra < br >. That is, the empty paragraph will now look like: < p > < br > < br > < / p >.

So, as I keep re-editing the page, all the empty spaces keep growing…

ProseMirror is a tool kit so I assume this behavior can be adjusted (maybe it’s just a bug in the example editor configuration).
How difficult would it be to alter the example configuration so that this behavior does not happen?

I think the problem is that you’re taking the rendered HTML inside the editor and saving that. Use the DOMSerializer abstraction to convert state.doc to clean HTML instead.

1 Like

Yes, I’m “taking the rendered HTML inside the editor and saving that”.

Thanks for the usage correction for us newbies!

I used your suggestion and got something to work. I used the method of

Now, my code saves empty paragraphs without hard breaks inside, so now re-editing the same text does not change the text – that’s good!

But now I think I understand why the editor inserts hard breaks during edit mode. When I display empty paragraphs in html, the empty paragraphs are essentially invisible – no vertical space is added even if I have many of them. But when I edit that same text (using the basic schema), each of those empty paragraphs shows up as a new block. So now the issue is that the editor version of the text and the static html version of the text look different…