Selecting a Block-Level Node after Insertion

Hi everyone! I’ve been biting my teeth out on this problem for a while now (ProseMirror beginner here!) and now I’m at a point where I just have to ask for an outside opinion on this.

I have a custom Image-Node, which renders as a NodeView. I create and insert that with the following code:

const cleanImageAttrs = Object.entries(data).reduce((acc, [key, value]) => { …unrelated code…  }}, {});
const { tr } = this.editorState;
const node = this.editorState.schema.nodes.image.createAndFill(cleanImageAttrs, null);
tr.replaceSelectionWith(node);
// TODO: find a way to select the image after it was inserted
// It doesn’t work yet when the node was inserted at the end of another node or the document
tr.setSelection(new NodeSelection(tr.doc.resolve(Math.max(0, (tr.selection.$anchor.depth > 0 ? tr.selection.$anchor.before() : tr.selection.anchor) - node.nodeSize))));

this.editorView.dispatch(tr.scrollIntoView());
this.editorView.focus();

I’ve tried simply using the method that was described here, but I keep getting an error that nodeBefore is null, which I can confirm when logging the selection.

My method sort of works, unless the image is inserted after a TextNode at the end of the document (or a block-level node such as a quote for example). That causes an error in the NodeSelection constructor, because it tries to read nodeSize of the nodeAfter property of the passed position (which is null because we’re at the end of the document).

Why is this happening? I feel like I’ve got something fundamental wrong about how selections work, or my Image-node is somehow malformed.

I’d appreciate any pointers in the right direction.