Submitting textarea with markdown + ProseMirror

First of all, good to see ProseMirror is getting along nicely :clap: (I backed in the crowdfunding phase).
I have used CodeMirror in several projects, and this is the first time I’m going to dig in with ProseMirror.

In my Elixir/Phoenix project I have a form with a textarea where users can input Markdown (which we store in a DB). What I like to achieve is something similar to the Markdown example.

Can I use ProseMirror to “shadow” the textarea I already have so I can submit the form? Or would I have to use javascript to keep the editor and textarea instances in sync? I remember CoreMirror could be initialized from an existing textarea, but I guess this works differently now using contenteditable?

Ideas or examples on how to do this are welcome!

1 Like

Disclaimer: I’m new to Prosemirror as well… so take my suggestions with a grain of salt.

You’ll probably have to end up using Javascript to update a hidden element in your form.

I wrote a quick example here: http://glitch.com/edit/#!/lead-tomato

This example only copies the HTML and submits it to the form… but you can change it to be a different format. (In your case, you probably want the markdown.)

The above example doesn’t use Prosemirror’s framework to accomplish the update… But you can do something similar by putting a call to do something similar in a dispatchTransaction() function. See this: https://prosemirror.net/docs/guide/#view (scroll down a bit, under “Data Flow”)

Hopefully that helps!

1 Like

Hi chaseme, thanks for the demo!

So this needs some custom javascript. I’m worried syncing this on just keyup event is not waterproof, e.g. when using the mouse to paste. Anyone experiences or best practices for this?